New members expand APRU’s reach across the Asia Pacific Rim
October 10, 2019

With its latest expansion, APRU shows how the diverse needs of the region can be addressed by research and education.

APRU Chair and UCLA Chancellor, Gene Block, recently welcomed three institutions to the university consortium: The University of Queensland (Australia), Shanghai Jiao Tong University (China) and Universidad San Francisco de Quito (Ecuador).

The announcement brings the network’s membership to 51 research universities from around the Pacific Ocean.

Announcing the new members, Chancellor Block said they will contribute to APRU’s “collective strength in addressing the challenges of the 21st century.”

Universidad San Francisco de Quito (USFQ), for example, is a private liberal arts university located in Quito, Ecuador and is noted for its research stations in the Galapagos Islands and the Amazon.

Shanghai Jiao Tong University (SJTU) is one of the oldest and most prestigious universities in China. SJTU has established a number of joint institutes with overseas universities and institutions, among them are the China Europe International Business School (CEIBS) and The University of Michigan-Shanghai Jiao Tong University Joint Institute (UM-SJTU JI) and most recently the USC-SJTU Institute of Cultural and Creative Industry.

The University of Queensland, a member of the Group of Eight, is one of Australia’s top research universities which has a reputation for creating change through research and commercialization. Research highlights include Gardasil®, the cervical cancer vaccineTriple P – Positive Parenting Program; world-leading MRI technology; and advances in biopharmaceuticals and sustainable biofuels.

The new members will therefore add to the organization’s impact in connecting research and education to international policy development and building partnerships to find solutions suited to the diversity of the Asia-Pacific region.