New Member Spotlight: National Tsing Hua University
August 16, 2018

APRU Welcomes National Tsing Hua University

Hong Kong, July 17, 2018 — We are delighted to announce that National Tsing Hua University (NTHU) in Taiwan has joined the Association of Pacific Rim Universities (APRU).

We welcome NTHU President Dr. Hong Hocheng and his colleagues to our association and look forward to a valuable and productive partnership.

NTHU joining APRU was followed by an initial visit to the university by APRU Secretary General Christopher Tremewan, Director Administration and Finance Sherman Cheng and Project Manager (Events and Relations) Elaine Hung in November 2017.

Most recently, an APRU delegation was given a tour of the NTHU campus during the 22nd Annual Presidents’ Meeting in Taipei in June. The campus landmarks visited included the Brain Research Center, Tsing Hua Open Pool Nuclear Reactor (THOR), as well as the NTHU Library.

“APRU is privileged to count NTHU among the leading research universities which comprise our members,” said Tremewan.

“We applaud NTHU’s impressive track record as a university incubator and welcome the strength NTHU will bring to our collaboration on effective solutions to the challenges of the Pacific Rim region,” he added.

NTHU was founded as the Beijing Tsinghua University and re-established in Hsinchu City, some 70 kilometers south of Taipei, after the Chinese Civil War.

NTHU now has 10 colleges, 26 departments, 27 independent graduate institutes, and 10 master and PhD programs.

It has so far spun off over 100 companies, making it the largest university incubator on the island.

The university is especially renowned for its nuclear faculty, which is home to THOR, one of the world’s two nuclear reactors that are currently being used for clinical studies for neutron capture therapy of cancer.

NTHU’s Brain Research Center has together with the US Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory developed a series of novel imaging tools, allowing an unprecedented 3D visualization of single-gene expression in single neurons within the Drosophila (small fruit fly) brain.

The long list of NTHU’s outstanding alumni highlights the success of NTHU students, including Nobel Physics laureates Dr. Cheng-Ning Yang and Dr. Tsung-Dao Lee, Nobel Chemistry laureate Dr. Yuan-Tseh Lee, as well as Wolf Prize winner in mathematics Dr. Shiing-Shen Chern.

The Ranking of Top Universities in Greater China – 2017 by Shanghai Jiao Tong University placed NTHU 1st in Taiwan and 3rd in Greater China.

NTHU’s US Patent Acquisition ranking has been 1st in the whole of Taiwan for the past four consecutive years.

Times Higher Education World University Rankings ranked NTHU 36th in Asia in 2018.