University of Science and Technology of China

President: Professor Bao Xinhe
Senior International Leader: Professor Jinlong Yang, Vice President for International Affairs



The University of Science and Technology of China (USTC) was established in Beijing in 1958 and is under the jurisdiction of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS). As a key university of the nation, it is noted for its advanced science and high technology programs, unique management studies and well-tailored disciplines in the humanities.
USTC has eight national key programs of first-level disciplines, four national key programs of second-level disciplines, two programs with major national support, and 19 programs with major provincial and ministerial support. It has 33 national-level and CAS/provincial/ ministerial-level laboratories and research centers, including the National Synchrotron Radiation Laboratory, the Hefei National Laboratory for Physical Sciences at the Microscale, the National Key Laboratory of Fire Science, the National High Performance Computing Center at Hefei, and the National Geophysical Observatory at Mencheng. USTC has 1,162 full-time teachers and 286 researchers, among whom 33 are academicians of the Chinese Academy of Sciences or Chinese Academy of Engineering (CAE), 9 academicians of the Third World Academy of Sciences, 342 doctoral advisors, 450 professors and 646 associate professors. Of its 15,500 plus students, over 1,900 are doctoral students, over 6,200 are master’s students, and more than 7,400 are undergraduate students.