Nagoya University

President: Professor Naoshi Sugiyama


Senior International Leader: Professor Norimi Mizutani, Vice President (International Affairs, Planning, Evaluation, and Institutional Research)



Nagoya University was established as a medical school in 1871. It became a national university in 1939. You can find us in the Tokai region of central Japan, recognized for its manufacturing industry. Since 2001, we are proud to be associated with six of Japan’s Nobel Prize awardees. These include four in physics and two in chemistry.


Nagoya University is a comprehensive university. It comprises nine undergraduate schools and 13 graduate schools. There are also 29 research institutes and centers. Students interested in society can study Humanities, Education, Law, Development, or Economics. Those who prefer to learn about science and technology can choose programs in Informatics, Science, Medicine, Engineering, Bioagricultural Sciences, Mathematics, Environmental Studies, or Pharmaceutical Sciences. Research institutes include those for Environmental Medicine, Materials and Systems for Sustainability, and Space-Earth Environmental Research. You can also visit several interdepartmental research and education centers on campus. Examples include the Radioisotope Research Center, the Center for Gene Research, the Research Center for Materials Science, the Synchrotron Radiation Research Center, and the National Composites Center.


Of its 16,000 students, Nagoya University welcomes over 10% from abroad. Many enroll in the G30 undergraduate and graduate programs taught in English. We offer these full-degree programs in Science, Engineering, Agricultural Sciences, Humanities, Law, and Economics.