Kyushu University

President: Dr Tatsuro Ishibashi


Senior International Leader: Professor Kenji Iwata, Executive Vice President, International Affairs



Founded in 1911, Kyushu University is a leading research-oriented institution of higher education located in Fukuoka, which is historically renowned as Japan’s gateway to Asia for profound cultural and economic interactions due to its geographical proximity to continental Asia. The University celebrated its first centennial in 2011 and is embarking on its second century with bold steps.

Kyushu University is comprised of 12 undergraduate schools, 18 graduate schools, 17 faculties, 5 research institutes, and a hospital, as well as over 50 affiliated research centers. With an enrollment of nearly 20,000 students, the over 2,200 international students represent about 100 countries, reflecting the university’s steadfast commitment to internationalization.

In November 2021, Kyushu University was selected as a Designated National University Corporation by the Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT). As a Designated National University Corporation, Kyushu University will play an active role in tackling pressing social and global issues by leveraging its strengths in the fields of “decarbonization”, “medicine and health” and “environment and food”. Additionally, Kyushu University will advance education, research, and medical care through digital transformation, strengthen connections between education, research, and society, and expand its international collaboration.